Shadow of the Tomb Raider Reveal Is Likely Coming Tomorrow

The site has revealed much more than it intended…

Square Enix is teasing a reveal for their new game, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, that looks scheduled for tomorrow, but the source code for the site reveals a lot more – including a possible release date and platforms.

The image on the website is accompanied by a date and time that indicates we can expect some sort of news on the title tomorrow, March 15 at 6AM PDT/ 9AM EDT/ 1PM GMT. But if you take a look at the page’s HTML, there’s a lot more lurking below the surface.

If the information in the source code is accurate, it looks like the final chapter of Lara’s adventures will release on September 14 for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One, with pre-order details being announced on April 27, as shared by Nibellion on Twitter.

News of the next instalment in the franchise was announced last year, when Square Enix said that the game reveal would take place with a “major event” in 2018.

Exit Theatre Mode

This will be a bit of an embarrassment for Square if this information is legitimate and they’re pipped to the post yet again with another snafu; the title for the game was leaked back in 2016 after a Reddit user spotted someone on a Montreal subway working on what appeared to be a presentation for the game.

Kotaku’s sources later confirmed that this was indeed what the next game would be called.

For now, we’ll have to wait until tomorrow for official confirmation and hopefully some more tidbits on the title.

Shabana is a freelance writer who enjoys JRPGs, wine, and not finishing games. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram.